Lakeside Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
Action  Shots

Action Shots

Always exciting

June 16th 2023

June 16th 2023

Great Racing! Come out Friday Night Through September

Dumpert, Kreisel, and Raffurty Command Late-Season Victories at Lakeside Speedway!


Lakeside Speedway

Dumpert, Kreisel, and Raffurty Command Late-Season Victories at Lakeside Speedway!

Dumpert, Kreisel, and Raffurty Command Late-Season Victories at Lakeside Speedway!

For Immediate Release
By Sam Stoecklin
October 2, 2020

(Kansas City, Kansas) The 2020 season at Lakeside Speedway rolled on Friday evening as guest classes took over the program for another night of Racing on the River’s Edge! The Malvern Bank Super Late Model (SLMR) series, along with the USAC Midwest Wingless Racing Association, Mod-Lite, and Kansas Antique Racers participated during the program for an exciting night of October racing.

Between the Late Models, Sprints, and Mod-Lites, 67 cars took part in the racing action that included 10 preliminary races leading up to three main events among these classes. The Kansas Antique Racers group was also on hand with 6 events throughout the night. Visit the group on their Facebook page for results and additional information at

Bill Leighton, Jr., and McKenna captured the two preliminary heat races for the SLMR Series. McKenna and multiple-time series champion Kyle Berck began the night’s main event from row one. Third-starting Cory Dumpert and Pospisil were lock step through the opening laps and if not for a caution flag on lap nine, Pospisil might have been the man to beat, but after the restart, Dumpert built a respectable lead and outpaced Pospisil even through a late-race incident in which Andrew Kosiski’s car took a wild ride, going airborne and flipping. While initially shaken, the word up to the scoring tower was that he was okay. When racing resumed, Dumpert went on to collect the victory, his third of the season, worth $3,000 over Pospisil in second. Pospisil secured his second SLMR series championship. Berck, McKenna, and Jesse Sobbing completed the top five behind Dumpert and Pospisil.

In their final appearance of the year Racing on the River’s Edge, 21 entrants participated in the USAC Midwest Wingless Racing Association sprint car action. Mitchell Moore, Wyatt Burks, and Wesley Smith collected heat race victories to setup the grid for the 25-lap feature event. Chris Morgan and Wyatt Burks started the race on row one to begin the main event. Morgan appeared to have things well in control as he paced the field up front for the opening 22 laps. However, Riley Kreisel, who started tenth moved forward to stun Morgan for the win after taking command late in the race at lap 23! The victory was Kreisel’s first in the newly formed series. August Lakeside winner Wyatt Burks crossed the line in second with Morgan rounding out the podium in third while Wesley Smith and Kory Schudy completed the top five. During the event, Casey Lewallen’s car took a series of violent rolls, thankfully the Lake Lotawana, Missouri, driver was okay after the wild backstretch ride.

Mod-Lites were 31 cars strong to fill out the night’s competition. Four preliminary heat races and one B-Main event sorted out the 24-car starting grid for the 15-lap main event later in the night. Joe Glick, Rodney Schweizer, Dillon Raffurty, and Garrett Stonum collected the heat wins while Travis Alexander took the B-Main.

Dillon and Michael Raffurty took front-row starting honors for the main event. While Michael Raffurty did all he could to hang with Dillon, he slipped back in the running order with third-starting Tanner Gannon and Rodney Schweizer, who was making a rare Mod-Lite start, came forward throughout the race. Dillon Raffurty has been nothing short of dominant all season long regardless of where he competes and once again prevailed at Lakeside Speedway for his second victory of the year Racing on the River’s edge at Lakeside Speedway. Tanner Gannon moved from third to second at the finish with Schweizer finishing third. Stonum was fourth with Michael Raffurty rounding out the top five in a race that took just over seven seconds to complete.

Mod-Lites have one more Lakeside Speedway event on the schedule and will serve as support class for the upcoming Friday, October 16th FVP Platinum Battery Showdown featuring the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series.

Lakeside Speedway General Manager Pete Howey is in the final stages of planning the 2020 end-of-season recognition event. Stay tuned to and the speedway’s Facebook page for announcements regarding this upcoming event.

The next event at the speedway takes place on Friday, October 16th with the FVP Platinum battery Showdown, featuring the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series and Mod-Lites. For additional details and ticketing information, visit the series online at

Complete results, schedule information, track details, car class rules, and news are available on the track’s website at Contact the track at (913) 299-9206. The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr., Kansas City, Kansas, one mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City. Follow on Facebook at or Email the track at

2020 Lakeside
Friday, October 16th - Race #19 - FVP Platinum Battery Showdown featuring the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series and Mod-Lites.
Friday, October 30th - 5th Annual Grant Junghans Memorial with USMTS Modifieds and USRA B-Mods

A-Main Results, 10-2-20. Full results under the Lakeside Speedway MyRacePass Profile.

SLMR Late Models - 15 Entries
A Feature 25 Laps - Length of Race 28:36

  1. 77-Cory Dumpert[3]; 2. 04-Tad Pospisil[5]; 3. 14-Kyle Berck[2]; 4. 22C-Charlie McKenna[1]; 5. 1-Jesse Sobbing[6]; 6. 52-Brian Kosiski[12]; 7. 99D-Darrel DeFrance[14]; 8. 15C-Curt Schroeder[10]; 9. 76-Zach Zeitner[7]; 10. 11T-Jake Neal[9]; 11. 24-Bill Leighton[8]; 12. 1J-Jay Burdic[11]; 13. 53-Andrew Kosiski[4]; 14. 44-Troy Daly[13]; 15. 4K-Josh Krug[15]

USAC Midwest Wingless Sprints - 21 Entries
A Feature 25 Laps - Length of Race 34:08

  1. 91-Riley Kreisel[10]; 2. 11W-Wyatt Burks[2]; 3. 9W-Chris Morgan[1]; 4. 12-Wesley Smith[4]; 5. 28-Kory Schudy[6]; 6. 4-Braydon Cromwell[5]; 7. 41-Brad Wyatt[11]; 8. 73-Samuel Wagner[8]; 9. 2C-Zach Clark[12]; 10. 2H-Luke Howard[13]; 11. 2-Chad Goff[7]; 12. 65-Chris Parkinson[21]; 13. 15E-Dakota Earls[15]; 14. 33L-Mark Lane[17]; 15. 88-Chad Tye[19]; 16. 77-Jack Wagner[14]; 17. (DNF) 9H-Mitchell Moore[3]; 18. (DNF) 38-Cody Baker[9]; 19. (DNF) 66M-Max Grogan[20]; 20. (DNF) 2X-Jason Billups[18]; 21. (DNF) 85C-Casey Lewallen[16]

Mod Lites - 31 Entries
A Feature - 15 Laps - Length of Race 7:11

  1. 46-Dillon Raffurty[1]; 2. 3T-Tanner Gannon[3]; 3. 33-Rodney Schweizer[4]; 4. 4K-Garrett Stonum[7]; 5. 41-Michael Raffurty[2]; 6. 96-Jonathan Braathun[5]; 7. 64X-Randy Bryan[11]; 8. 3G-Joe Glick[6]; 9. 47-Cory Sonner[8]; 10. 75-Justin Raffurty[9]; 11. 98-Jeff Raffurty[12]; 12. 49-Kevin White[10]; 13. 73-Tony Kerr[14]; 14. 36-Travis Alexander[17]; 15. 92-Michael Everhart[13]; 16. 8V-Cody Vail[19]; 17. 14-Taylor Pollock[18]; 18. 3X-Mark Downey[20]; 19. 0-Jake Glenn[21]; 20. 4D-Doug Pollock[23]; 21. 3-Nathan Wolfe[22]; 22. 03-James Beebe[16]; 23. 16-William Bergstrom[24]; 24. (DNF) 5D-Dustin Dennison[15]
Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Christys Tasty Queen
Rod End Supply
Shields Auto Repair
Tony Farr
Wilkerson Crane
Fran Sutton
Schwizer Performance
Shane Roach