Lucas Oil ASCS on track for Thursday's KC Klassic at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
May 10, 2017  |  by Bryan Hulbert

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network returns to competition as a prelude to NASCAR weekend in Kansas City with the KC Klassic presented by on Thursday, May 11 at the famed Lakeside Speedway.

In the 2016 showdown at the four-tenths mile Kansas oval, Missouri's Brian Brown found his way to Victory Lane for the first time after getting around race long leader, Blake Hahn, on the 22nd lap of competition. Currently on Brown's 2017 lineup of events, he'll have plenty of competition on hand as Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour point's leader Sam Hafertepe Jr. carries a five race win streak into the Lakeside.

Tying the record set by Gary Wright in 2005 with his win at the Missouri State Fair Speedway by a few feet over Johnny Herrera at the line, Hafertepe posted a ninth place finish in last year's event at Lakeside.

Joining the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network is the ASCS Warrior Region presented by Impact Signs, Awnings & Warps as well as the Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods.

Sedalia's Jonathan Cornell holds the top-spot in ASCS Warrior Region standings by 74 points over Taylor Walton. Cornell placed 14th in 2016 at Lakeside Speedway.

Also leading by 74 markers with the Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint Cars, Korey Weyant enters Lakeside with a single victory on the season. One year ago, Missouri's Clinton Boyles raced through the field from 10th to claim victory with the Non-Wing division.

Thursday, May 11 will open at 5 p.m. with Hot Laps getting underway at 7. Tickets can be purchased at the event. Lakeside Speedway is located at 5615 Wolcott Dr. in Kansas City, Kan. For more information on Lakeside Speedway, log onto

For continued updates on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the seven Regional Tours that make up the ASCS Nation and its over 150 nights of racing in 2017, log onto