Clancy gets redemption; Marrant, Shields, Hunt, Jewett also win on Tompkins Industries Night

Print this page
July 22, 2016  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

When you poke a bear, don’t expect him to enjoy it.

Last week in the USRA B-Mod main event, Chad Clancy, the points leader, never made a lap in the feature. A flat would take him out of the race and he thought that he could have been a contender. He came into Friday night with one goal in mind; win.

Luke Nieman would hold on to the lead at the beginning of the feature. Clancy, meanwhile starting 7th, had to make his way through the field to get up front.

It didn’t take long as Clancy weaved his way to the the 2nd spot and then made a quick run to get by Nieman for the top spot.

Clancy is very comfortable at the front of the pack and it showed just how focused he was on his task Friday night. Clancy kept his hot rod moving forward running away from the competition all the way to the win on Tompkins Industries Night.

Brad Smith followed Clancy from the 8th starting spot to finish in runner-up spot, 3rd would go to the early leader, Nieman, Patrick Royalty had a strong run finishing 4th and Shad Turner brought home a top 5 finishing 5th.

Chad Clancy won the USRA B-Mod feature.

It looked like the days of old to start the USRA Modified Feature on Friday night.

Two drivers that have won multiple features and championships, Tim Karrick and Chad Lyle, started on the front row.

Karrick would win the battle for the top spot early. In the front of the pack Karrick began to put some distance between himself and the competition. That was until something would go wrong with Karrick’s car in turn 2 he would hit the wall hard and bounce on to his side out on the racing surface. The race would go red until the cleanup crew could attend to the accident.

Lyle also sustained damage in the Karrick accident and would have to leave the track. Aaron Marrant would lead the field to the next green flag.

As the race got going again it became a 2 car breakaway with Marrant leading Kerry Davis around the speedway.

A late race yellow would bunch the field up but as they went back to green it was Marrant at the point. Marrant had been up front since the first yellow of the night and he would not let go of the top spot as he took the checkered flag.

Davis, padded his points lead as he finished 2nd, 3rd went to Jared Stiens, Lucas Conley celebrated a good 4th place run and Nic Bidinger rounded out the top 5 in 5th.

Aaron Marrant won the USRA Modified feature.

The USRA Stock Car points leader, Brett Heeter, finally fell off the pace on Friday night.

In the early part of the feature Heeter sustained heavy damage after contact with another car put him up into the wall on the front straight. The damage was too much and would knock him from the feature.

Chad Walker, Trevor Hunt, Kevin Anderson and Jason Ryun put on a show up front of the main event.

As the field battled it out, the fight up front started to develop between the leader, Hunt, and Anderson.

The two would stay nose to tail all the way to the white flag lap. On the white flag lap Anderson would set himself up for, what he thought, would be a last lap pass. Anderson kept pace with Hunt and on the final corner made his move to the inside of Hunt. They would sprint to the finish line and Hunt would beat Anderson to the stripe by 1/2 a car length.

Anderson finished 2nd, Lucas Conley sprinted from 11th to finish 3rd, 4th was Steve Herrick and Scotty Moore raced his way to 5th.

Trevor Hunt won the USRA Stock Car feature.

The Grand National feature, again, turned out to be another battle between Nick Newton and the defending champion, Tim Shields.

Nick Newton would lead the first 6 laps of the feature, but on the next lap Shields would take the top spot.

Shields took hold of the top spot and then he put his stamp on it. He would drive away from Newton and go on to win another Grand National Feature on the 2016 season.

Newton would finish 2nd, 3rd would be Don Marrs, Marshall Jewett brought it home in 4th and completing the race in 5th was Donnie Brown.

Tim Shields won the Grand National feature.

The Factory Stock feature saw a dominating performance on Friday night.

Marshall Jewett sprinted to the lead on lap #1 from his 7th starting spot. Jewett couldn’t do any wrong on Friday night at Lakeside Speedway. Out in front of the pack Jewett expanded his lead lap after lap and would go on to another victory in the Factory Stock division.

Points leader Jason Ryun finished in the runner-up spot, Jay Barnes logged the 3rd place finish, 4th went to Leroy Morrison and Lane Chew finished 5th.

Marshall Jewett won the Factory Stock feature.


Factory Stocks – Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 7 7 Marshall Jewett Gardner , Ks 100.00
2 6 27C Jason Ryun Kansas City, Mo 95.00
3 5 99J Jay Barnes Kearney , Mo 91.00
4 2 50JR Leroy Morrison Raymore , Mo 87.00
5 3 37 Lane Chew Cummings , Ks 84.00
6 4 79 Oliver Harris Tonganoxie , Ks 81.00
7 1 27D David Moline Kansas City, Mo 78.00

Grand Nationals – Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 5 42T Tim Shields Kansas City, Mo 100.00
2 1 711 Nick Newton Kansas City, Ks 95.00
3 2 9 Don Marrs Shawnee , Ks 91.00
4 3 3E Marshall Jewett Gardner , Ks 87.00
5 4 26 Donnie Brown Lancaster , Ks 84.00
6 6 15 Nick Drew Kansas City, Ks 81.00

USRA B-Mods – Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 7 21C Chad Clancy Polo , Mo 100.00
2 8 99 Brad Smith Belton , Mo 95.00
3 2 181 Luke Nieman Nortonville , Ks 91.00
4 3 49 Patrick Royalty Kansas City, Ks 87.00
5 9 17T Shadren Turner Saint Joseph, Mo 84.00
6 11 44H Trevor Hunt Kearney , Mo 81.00
7 4 12C Steve Clancy Odessa , Mo 78.00
8 18 222 Colten Stevens Basehor , Ks 76.00
9 10 17J Jake Richards Edwardsville , Ks 74.00
10 1 16 Blake Pierce Kansas Cirty, Mo 72.00
11 17 38 Matt Pugh Overland Park, Ks 70.00
12 5 5 Terry Bivins Lebo , Ks 68.00
13 16 42 Gene Claxton Kansas City, Mo 66.00
14 13 0 Chase Galvan Bonner Springs, Ks 64.00
15 23 97J Jeff Elder Smithville , Mo 62.00
16 12 81 Jacob Blair Parkville , Mo 60.00
17 19 17 Dean Galvan Bonner Springs, Ks 58.00
18 20 64K Monty Cook St. Joe, Mo 56.00
19 15 03B Chris Brockway Warrensburg , Mo 55.00
20 21 27M Matt Oxford Washburn , Mo 54.00
21 6 22Y Yancy Shepard Smithville , Mo 53.00
22 22 9 Don Marrs Shawnee , Ks 52.00
23 24 27 David Moline Kansas City, Mo 51.00
24 14 117 Tim Galvan Edwardsville , Ks 45.00 DNS
25 25 20S Ben Stockton Kansas City, Mo 45.00 DNS

USRA Stock Cars – Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 7 33H Trevor Hunt Kearney , Mo 100.00
2 5 417 Kevin Anderson Kansas City, Mo 95.00
3 11 17C Lucas Conley Spring Hill, Ks 91.00
4 3 5K Steve Herrick Topeka , Ks 87.00
5 4 12 Scotty Moore Kansas City, Ks 84.00
6 10 46 David Holcomb Kansas City, Ks 81.00
7 2 41K Vernon Kever Kansas City, Mo 78.00
8 12 W04 Chuck Warman Atchison , Ks 76.00
9 9 1 Christopher Smith Kansas City, Mo 74.00
10 6 27 Jason Ryun Kansas City, Mo 72.00
11 1 04 Chad Walker Kansas City, Ks 70.00
12 8 05 Brett Heeter Kansas City, Ks 68.00
13 13 17 Kevin Mcginnis Kansas City, Ks 45.00 DNS

USRA Modifieds – Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 3 70 Aaron Marrant Orrick , Mo 100.00
2 6 68 Kerry Davis Parkville , Mo 95.00
3 10 59 Jared Stiens Maryville , Mo 91.00
4 4 17 Lucas Conley Spring Hill, Ks 87.00
5 5 3B Nic Bidinger Perry , Ks 84.00
6 15 73B Shad Badder Bates City, Mo 81.00
7 11 3 Larry “bubba” Harvey, Jr. Kansas City, Ks 78.00
8 7 34 Mark Schafman Edwardsville , Ks 76.00
9 14 51 Joe Walker Harrisonville , Mo 74.00
10 17 29S Jeff Smith Kansas City, Mo 72.00
11 13 2 Mike Eisenhut Topeka , Ks 70.00
12 12 5 Kevin Mcginnis Edwardsville , Ks 68.00
13 16 14C James “bill” Carter Kansas City, Ks 66.00
14 8 9D8 Paden Phillips Chanute , Ks 64.00
15 9 8X Chad Thomsen Louisburg , Ks 62.00
16 2 1K Tim Karrick Basehor , Ks 60.00
17 1 33 Chad Lyle Oak Grove, Mo 58.00