Christy's Tasty Queen Night this Friday

Print this page
July 7, 2016  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

Brad Smith will try to make it two in a row in the USRA B-Mod division.
Brad Smith will try to make it two in a row in the USRA B-Mod division.

Friday night, July 8, racing on the river’s edge continues at Lakeside Speedway as it’s Christy’s Tasty Queen Night.

Christy’s Tasty Queen not only serves up some of the best food in the Midwest, but the Christy family has been a huge supporter of all types of local racing over the years. So that means this Friday night fans will get to see all of the regular weekly racing at Lakeside Speedway and they will get a bonus at the Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers will also be in action.

Lakeside Speedway’s weekly racing lineup consists of the USRA Modifieds, USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, Factory Stocks and Grand Nationals.

Last week it was a hot one, on and off the track! At the end of the night there were some new faces getting into victory lane. Lance Town got the most out of his battle with Kerry Davis, as he picked up his 1st win of the season in the USRA Modified Feature. Brad Smith had to wait a week before he got his 1st win last Friday night in the USRA B Mod main event. In the Grand National division it looks like Tim Shields is reverting back to what he did all of last season, as he raced his way to another Grand National Feature win. The Factory Stock division was off but a larger number of ULMA Late Models made their way to Lakeside and in the end Chris Smyser was the top of the pack!

As Lance Town drove to the win there were a few new faces hanging around the front of the field. Dylan Hoover and Jared Stiens both finished in the top 5 last week. Nic Bidinger was also in the top 5 for another week. Some drivers are starting to find their groove on the race track as we near the halfway point of the season. Longtime Lakside racer, Bubba Harvey, had a strong run last week starting 17th and finishing 7th in the feature. Moving up 10 spots made Harvey the ‘Hard Charger’ from last week. Kerry Davis still stands on top of the point standings at the moment in the USRA Modified divsion.

Bret Heeter took the week off last week to go racing outside of the state and in doing so it allowed Trevor Hunt to make a run at the top spot in the points. Hunt drove to the win, his 2nd of the season, but with Heeter out he closed the points lead down to 10 markers. Kevin Anderson, who also took the week off, dropped to 3rd in the standings. Last week in the USRA Stock Car Feature Blake Peeler had a strong run. Peeler, who races just about anywhere he wants to, started 8th in the feature and worked his way up to 3rd by the end of the feature. This week with Heeter and Anderson returning look for another great race from the Stock Cars.

Brad Smith got the win last week and it didn’t come as a surprise to anyone at the speedway. He almost had the USRA B Modified Feature won a week ago but things out of his control rained down on his good run. Good thing for him that he backed it up last week and got the win. This division is still one of the toughest in the Midwest. Close to 70 different racers have turned laps in the B Mod division at Lakeside. The points leader, Chad Clancy, put on a run last week that had fans up on their feet. Clancy started in the 20th spot and made it all the way to 4th by the end. This feat made him a clear cut choice for the ‘Hard Charger’ award. Clancy currently leads his brother Steven in the points by triple digits.

Tim Shields rocketed to another win on the season last week and now he is starting to apply some pressure to Nick Newton who is leading the points in the Grand Nationals. As Shields win streak has gone on, Shields has shaved the lead down to just 16 points! This is a points race that will go down to the wire as both drivers Newton and Shields are among the best at Lakeside Speedway.

The Factory Stock division had the week off last week, so you can bet that they are going to be ready to rock and roll Friday night. Jason Ryun has had the upper hand all season long, but lately he is getting a strong challenge by Marshall Jewett. I have a strong feeling that this rivalry will continue Friday night.

Pos Driver Car # City, State Points Behind
1 Kerry Davis 68 PARKVILLE MO 812 Leader
2 Tim Karrick 1K BASEHOR KS 757 -55
3 Mark Schafman 34 EDWARDSVILLE KS 754 -58
4 Aaron Marrant 70 ORRICK MO 740 -72
5 Nic Bidinger 3B PERRY KS 694 -118
6 Darron Fuqua 87 MAYETTA KS 660 -152
7 Jeff Smith 29S KANSAS CITY MO 624 -188
8 Eric Hanna 13H MARYVILLE MO 590 -222
9 Jerry Liston Jr 28 KANSAS CITY KS 586 -226
10 Tyler Schmidt 66T EASTON KS 507 -305

Stock Car
Pos Driver Car # City, State Points Behind
1 Brett Heeter 05 KANSAS CITY KS 866 Leader
2 Trevor Hunt 33H KEARNEY MO 856 -10
3 Kevin Anderson 417 KANSAS CITY MO 811 -55
4 Steve Herrick 5K Topeka KS 747 -119
5 Lucas Conley 17C Spring Hill KS 723 -143
6 Justin Seifert 37 KANSAS CITY KS 722 -144
7 Chad Walker 04 Kansas City KS 692 -174
8 Kevin McGinnis 17 KANSAS CITY KS 522 -344
9 Rick Sparks 34 KANSAS CITY KS 458 -408
10 Nate Barnes 29 KEARNEY MO 413 -453

B Mods
Pos Driver Car # City, State Points Behind
1 Chad Clancy 21C Polo MO 1039 Leader
2 Steve Clancy 12C Odessa MO 928 -111
3 Luke Nieman 181 NORTONVILLE KS 927 -112
4 Shadren Turner 17T SAINT JOSEPH MO 874 -165
5 Tim Powell 57 LANSING KS 799 -240
6 Brad Smith 99 BELTON MO 798 -241
7 Patrick Royalty 49 KANSAS CITY KS 784 -255
8 Gene Claxton 42 KANSAS CITY MO 737 -302
9 Matt Pugh 38 OVERLAND PARK KS 736 -303
10 Colten Stevens 222 BASEHOR KS 720 -319

Grand National
Pos Driver Car # City, State Points Behind
1 Nick Newton 711 KANSAS CITY KS 901 Leader
2 Tim Shields 42T KANSAS CITY MO 885 -16
3 Donnie Brown 26 LANCASTER KS 843 -58
4 Don Marrs 9 SHAWNEE KS 625 -276
5 Marshall Jewett 3E GARDNER KS 617 -284
6 Steven Dibben 69R SMITHVILLE MO 608 -293
7 Raven Justice 4R KANSAS CITY KS 577 -324
8 Nick Drew 15 KANSAS CITY KS 475 -426
9 Darren Kling 30 BASEHOR KS 272 -629
10 Michael Morse, Jr 23 KANSAS CITY KS 78 -823

Factory Stock
Pos Driver Car # City, State Points Behind
1 Jason Ryun 27C KANSAS CITY MO 960 Leader
2 Marshall Jewett 7 GARDNER KS 881 -79
3 Oliver Harris 79 Tonganoxie KS 644 -316
4 Kevin Pike 610 Edgerton MO 627 -333
5 Aiden Lueth 27 Kansas City MO 585 -375
6 Leroy Morrison 50JR Raymore MO 542 -418
7 Kerry Ayres 99A KANSAS CITY MO 513 -447
8 J.R. Billings 185 KANSAS CITY KS 399 -561
9 Jay Barnes 99J KEARNEY MO 204 -756
10 Tim Billings 27T LIBERTY MO 187 -773


STARTING TIMES: Pits open at 4:30. Spectator gates open at 5:00. Drivers meeting is at 6:45. Hot laps start at 7:00.Racing begins at 7:30.

GRANDSTANDS: General admission seating is $12 for adults, $6 for kids ages 7-12 and children ages 6 and under get in for free. Military personnel, students and seniors over 62 get in for $10 with proper ID.

TERRACE: Admission is $15 for adults, $8 for kids ages 7-12 and children ages 6 and under get in for free. Military personnel, students and seniors over 62 get in for $12 with proper ID. Must have terrace voucher to purchase terrace ticket.

SUITES: Admission is $20 for adults or $10 for kids ages 12 and under.

PITS: Pit passes are $30 for ages 7+ or $10 for 6 and under.