Lakeside Speedway added to Lucas Oil MLRA schedule

Print this page
March 4, 2015  |  by Dan Robinson, MLRA

The Lucas Oil MLRA is pleased to announce its return to Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas this coming season. The 4/10-mile oval sits just north of Kansas Speedway and has hosted the Lucas Oil MLRA every season since its conversion to dirt in 2000, less the 2011 season which was flooded out, and last year.

The 2015 show will run over Labor Day weekend on Friday, Sept. 4, setting up a two-show weekend as the following night moves to Lucas Oil Speedway for the Larry Phillips Memorial.

"Lakeside Speedway is a fan and driver favorite," commented MLRA Race Director Ernie Leftwich. "We've raced there so much over the years; it really felt awkward not going there last season. I'm so appreciative of the Marrs family for booking this race. It also fills a gap in our schedule and makes for an outstanding weekend of racing."

The return to Lakeside will also mark the Lucas Oil MLRA's 30th feature there. Terry Phillips leads all drivers with seven of his series leading 109 wins at Lakeside. Kyle Berck and Chad Lyle are next in line with three victories each. John Anderson and Chris Simpson each have won twice. Twelve drivers have have graced Lakeside speedway victory lane once.

Lakeside Speedway General Manager Pete Howey added; "We're very excited for our race fans. The MLRA hasn't been to Lakeside in a while now. We're putting together several great shows this season to make the Lakeside experience fun for the whole family."

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at Fans may also "like" the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at