Story By : Rodney White

Fireworks were promised to the packed crowd at Lakeside Speedway on McCarthy Auto Group Night at the races. The fan's were treated to fireworks on and off of the track.

Tim Karrick holds the record for most win's at Lakeside Speedway since 2000 with 48 however through the midway point in the season the Basehor, Ks driver had yet to visit the McCarthy Auto Group winner circle. That would change tonight - using his front row starting spot Karrick would trade the lead with Parkville, Missouri driver Kerry Davis. Karrick working the extreme top side of the race track as Davis would use the bottom. In the end Karrick would find his way to victory lane and win #49 at the "new" Lakeside Speedway.

2012 track champion Justin Seifert  started 9th on the field in the Factory Stock class and worked his way through the likes of John O'neal Jr, Brett Hetter and Jay Barnes to find himself in Victory Lane. Once again the Factory Stock class show's why they are a fan favorite at Lakeside. Barnes, Heeter, O'neal and Bobby Tavis rounded out the top 5.

Marshall Jewett found himself in front of the Grand National division again this week only by a nose over Gary Donaldson. The photo finish had the crowd standing in anticipation to find out who the winner was.  Donnie Brown and Bill Ruisinger rounded out the top 5.

Brad Smith was a man on a mission tonight but came up maybe 1 lap short of coming home with some hardware. The belton Missouri native drove through the field and was able to get a long side Chad Clancy a couple of times on lap 14 but was not able to make the pass.  Clancy drove his USRA B Modified into victory lane to a very happy pit crew and family!

“Racing on the River’s Edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and Factory Stocks.  Gates open at 5:00pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, and the first race gets under way at 7:30pm.  Adult ticket prices are $12.00, kids 7-12 $6.00, and children 6 and younger admitted FREE. Senior Citizen’s and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.

For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.

Bidinger, Clancy, Heeter, Shields 2014 Track Champ...

Photo: Dan Parkison
By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, September 26, 20 [ ... ]

Inclement Weather Wins at Lakeside

By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, August 29, 2014 - Inclement weather is resp [ ... ]

Phillips outguns Sanders for USMTS 'Hunt' win at L...

 Photo: John Lee - High Fly'N Photos KANSAS CITY, Kan.-A hurt engine in his h [ ... ]

Edge of Your Seat Racing Once Again At Lakeside Sp...

Lakeside Speedway hosted the Heritage Tractor Kids Night at the Rac [ ... ]

Old Timers, Heritage Tractor, MC Electric Night at...

             [ ... ]

Worth Harley Davidson Night at the Races Lakeside ...

          &n [ ... ]

Stiens, Clancy, Stigall, Shields, Steenstry Superi...

By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, July 18, 2014 – For a second time th [ ... ]

Davis, Powell, Stigell, Marrs Shine at Lakeside Sp...

Photo: Dan Parkison By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, July 11, 2014  [ ... ]

Best of the Best of both worlds collide July 15 at...

KANSAS CITY, Kan.-Just one more week until the Best of the Best of both worlds cross p [ ... ]

Davis, Clancy, Harward, Johnson Jive at Lakeside S...

By: Bob Libbey  
Kansas City, KS – Friday, July 4, 2014 – Kerry Davis ended a t [ ... ]

Bidinger, Powell, Hensler, Shields Superior at Lak...

By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, June 27, 2014 – Nic Bidinger made it [ ... ]

Bidinger, Clancy, Heeter Donaldson Repeat at Lakes...

By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, June 20, 2014 – Nic Bidinger made it [ ... ]

News Archive