Racing is on schedule for 2015 at Lakeside Speedway with new owners Don & Donna Marrs


Drivers meeting February 21st, 2015 at the Marriott by the Airport 12:00

Schafman, Powell, Anderson, Shields Superior at Lakeside Speedway

Photo: Dan Parkison

By: Bob Libbey
Kansas City, KS – Friday, June 13, 2014 – Mark Schafman may have led every lap of the USRA A-Modified feature but it wasn’t a gimme-win by any stretch of the imagination. No fewer than four different drives battled for second and the lead during the 25-lap event. Initially 15-yr old, Trevor Hunt, would go door to door with Schafman and then it was Tim Setzer…and then it was Hunt again…and then it was Kerry Davis…and then it was Hunt again…and then it was Davis again…and then it was Darron Fuqua. None could match the speed and consistency of Schafman, who captured his first win of the season and first since 2012. Terry Schultz ran out of laps, starting 14th to finish third alongside of and slightly behind Fuqua. Davis finished fourth despite a flat left rear tire and Tim Karrick rounded out the top-five.
Three different drivers led the 15-lap, USRA B-Modified feature but it was Tim Powell who ended up emering victorious. Jake Richards led early followed by Powell and then Chad Clancy and then Powell again. Powell picked up his first win at Lakeside this year, with his first career victory occurring Aug 16th, 2013. Clancy edged out Brad Smith for second while Chad Feather and Shadren Turner rounded out the top five.

Consistency, determination and a heavy right foot were needed to win the 15-lap USRA Factory Stock feature. Kevin Anderson led early, then Justin Siefert led, then Brett Heeter and then with a last ditch effort for the checkered flag Anderson made a great move to the bottom of the turn four and motored by Heeter to a first win of 2014. Anderson’s only other win came on September 3, 2010. Marshall Jewett battled from an 8th place starting position to finish third over first year driver, Dean Hensler. Joe Smith, Jr rounded out the top-five.
Tim Shields continued his dominance over the Grand National field and has now won five of the last seven feature events. Donnie Brown was able to apply pressure to Shields but would end up in second. Current point leader, Gary Donaldson, finished third in front of Don Marrs and Steve Dibben.
“Racing on the river’s edge” continues every Friday night through October with the USRA A-Modifieds, Grand Nationals, USRA B-Modifieds and USRA Stock Cars.  Gates open at 5:00pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, and the first race gets under way at 7:30pm.  Adult ticket prices are $12.00, kids 7-12 $6.00, and children 6 and younger admitted FREE. Senior Citizen’s and military personnel with ID are admitted for $10.
For more information on special events or ticket information call the Lakeside Speedway office at (913) 299-9206 or visit our official website at You can also find us on Facebook at Lakeside Speedway or Tweet us at #lakeside.